Florida Traffic Schools
If you received a traffic ticket in Florida, and you are interested in electing traffic
school. First, contact the Clerk's Office in the county in which the citation was received. Citation costs differ from county to county. Then, you must sign an affidavit
electing to attend the driving school and pay the Clerk the associated cost within 30 days to use this option.
Next, contact a Florida DHSMV approved traffic school, and
complete the course within 90 days. There are many Driver School
Course Providers in Florida. You can find a traffic school online, or you can follow the link to enroll in a Florida DHSMV
and Court approved online traffic school course with The Emilio School, Inc.
Finally, provide the
Clerk's Office with a copy of the completion certificate. This must be done within 90 days of
making the driving school election and paying the associated costs.
Failure to complete school within 90 days will result in the suspension of your driver's license,
additional assessments, a reinstatement fee, and the balance of the original amount will be due.
Since July 2005 state legislature passed a law stating that a person holding a commercial
driver’s license will no longer be able to elect the defensive driving course. Also if you have elected this defensive driving course within the
past twelve (12) months or more than five (5) times in the last 10 years the state will reject it and charge a reversal fee
may suspend your license.
Below there is a list of the
Counties in Florida. Click on the County where you received the traffic ticket to find a link to a traffic school.